Drug Me Up.

Everyone is different, and as such everyone who is affected by mental illness has different experiences. Even those categorized as the same.

For example, just because you have anxiety, doesn’t mean you can fully understand what someone else, who also has anxiety, is going through.

But that doesn’t mean that we cannot relate to one another.

To relate to someone, on any level, is one of the most basic human needs. We crave connection, however temporary, to prove that we are not alone. Those of us with mental illness often need that connection more than we even know.

I guess I truly realized this a couple of weeks ago when I finally decided to go talk to a psychologist. His knowledge of things I had previously felt as exclusive to me and my struggles gave me the reassurance that I can work through this.

Socially, those who don’t understand mental illnesses try to convince you that you don’t need drugs to be ok, that there are other options that work just as well.

I personally had a bad experience with medications when I was in my early teens, so for most of my life I felt that I had to suffer alone, since those ‘other options’ didn’t work for me. When I realized that I’m not alone in this illness, I made the decision to try medication again.

Today is only day five, but I can’t begin to explain how much better I feel. The changes that I have felt even after just one day. My results are not what everyone will experience, but if nothing else has worked medication is worth a shot.

Leave a Reply

