Oh, Brother.

Alright. This may be a long one.

I’ll start where Family Secrets left off.

Obviously the first thing I do when I’m told of the rumor that I have a brother is look him up on Facebook. What did we do before the internet?

It wasn’t hard to find him, I knew his first and last name and that his cousin was friends with my cousin.

I started to creep his pictures–I needed to see if he was my brother, and somehow thought that I would just know if I saw the right picture. 

And then I saw the picture. And at that moment I knew, I knew that he was my brother.  

 Charles

The resemblance is uncanny. This boy, whose photos I have just creeped on Facebook, who (at the time) may or may not have been my brother, looks quite like my cousin, Michael [see below].

Michael

I was so sure of our relation in that moment that I (internally) got quite angry when people would point out that a picture is not proof. 

I knew I couldn’t explain the feeling, so I kept my feelings in check and let my family and friends tell me that I shouldn’t ‘get my hopes up’.

Regardless, I messaged him. Nothing too weird, just a simple ‘Hey, this may seam weird, but I heard a rumour that Bruce Thompson (my dad) may be your dad too.’

He responded with ‘Yeah, I’ve heard that rumour, lol’.

From there we talked about the possibility of us being siblings, our feelings about it, and how to go about confirming it. Do you know how sketchy some DNA testing sites look? I never had a need for DNA testing so it was never something I’ve looked into before, but with a little research we set up an appointment for my dad and him to go in and get the test done.
We found out in October 2014 that we were officially siblings and I couldn’t have been happier. He’s a great guy, we’ve and our conversations have only gotten better. 

Although I only just got the chance to meet him this past July, and only got a couple of days to hang out (that’s a post for another day), I know that our relationship is only going to get better. 

Leave a Reply

